SLB Presidential Awards:

The SLB Presidential Awards will be divided into two categories, one for junior faculty and postdoctoral scholars, and another for students. The former award, for those in the postdoc category, will be given to a trainee who is less than 6 years since terminal degree, is a member of the Society, and has not been awarded a tenured faculty position at the time of submission of the application. The latter will be for students who are currently Society members and who have not yet received their terminal degree (i.e. currently graduate students). Three finalists for the awards will be chosen based on submitted abstracts for the Annual Meeting and accomplishments to date. The finalists will compete for the awards by giving oral presentations at the Annual Meeting. Finalists will be judged on their oral presentation as well as their ability to answer questions about their work. All finalists will be granted travel awards with $600 awarded to the first place winner, and $300 to the second place winner. Funds for these awards are provided by the Society for Leukocyte Biology.

Consider applying for the 2017 Presidential Awards during abstract submission opening in Spring 2017. Email with questions!

2016 SLB Presidential Award Finalists - See 2016 Awardee Bios HERE

Student Category
1st Place: Sabrina Sofia Burgener, University of Bern
2nd Place: Lauren Kinkead, Ph.D., Univ. of Iowa Carver Coll. of Medicine
3rd Place: Laura Healy, Oregon Health & Science University
Junior Faculty/Post-Doc Category
1st Place: Niels Heemskerk, VU University Medical Center
2nd Place: Juhi Bagaitkar, Ph.D.,  Washington University in St. Louis
3rd Place: Meraj Khan, Ph.D., The Hospital for Sick Children