G. Jeanette Thorbecke Award

THORBECKE_jeanette_NA(webThis award commemorates the memory of Jeanette Thorbecke, M.D., Ph.D. an internationally recognized immunologist who died on November 16, 2001, at the age of 72, in Maui, Hawaii. During her illustrious career, spanning over five decades, she published more than 400 papers, mentored a plethora of young investigators, and leaves behind a legacy of scientific and personal accomplishments. In honor and memory of Jeanette, the Society for Leukocyte Biology has established a special award, the G. Jeanette Thorbecke Award, presented to a deserving young female investigator. The awardee will be selected from junior faculty (holding a faculty position for fewer than 5 years), nominated by colleagues/faculty or chair of the department. The award will provide registration, travel expenses and a cash prize.

Consider applying for the 2017 Thorbecke Award during abstract submission opening in Spring 2017. Email with questions!

Past G. Jeanette Thorbecke Award Winners

Allison Green (2002) Kari Ann Shirey (2013)
Kamal Patel (2003) Stephanie Eisenbarth (2014)
No award (2004) Diane Bimczok (2015)
Nina Papavasiliou (2005) Roxane Tussiwand (2016)
Lalita Ramakrishan (2006)  
Suzanne S. Bohlson (2007)  
No award (2008)  
Julie Blander (2009)  
Denise Monack (2010)  
Dawn Bowdish (2011)  
Laura Sly (2012)